C6owners :: Forums :: C6 Support :: The Garage

Winter tyres

Home   Forum Rules    Forum Help  Conversion Tools

Please Register to enjoy additional Member Benefits
Author Post
e3steve   
Mon Mar 03 2014, 11:27pm
Member No: #1163
My front tyres were wearing very close to the wear gauges so I decided to experiment and give some of the winter variety a go. Not that we're expecting snow and such, down here in the southern coastal area, but it is quite damp.....!

I did a considerable degree of research into what members here have tried, and I also carried out a series of a Google searches for information about winter tyres.

My first thoughts were, not unnaturally, to give serious consideration to Michelin's Primacy Alpin, but I've read that they're not particularly good at suppressing road noise; and the consensus is that they seem to perish alarmingly early!

Next consideration was originally the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx as a few contributors on tyrereviews.co.uk seemed to be impressed. Then I read some on and, the deeper I got into the reviews the more I started to observe some strongly negative comments, mainly regarding wet grip, road noise and poor longevity.

Vredestein's Wintrac 4 Extreme looked to be about the best-rated but I couldn't locate any (part-worn on eBay -- remember that this is a winter experiment).

I plumped, in the end, for the Pirelli Sottozero (sub- or below-zero) from two different sellers. Each tyre was listed as having around 5mm left (so 3mm gone) with no repairs and no damage. All four worked out at two hundred quid, delivered. At that money, for four reasonable part-worns, I don't mind experimenting! The only way I managed to find four of the same was to take run-flats. These have quite thick walls so can be a bit of a harsh ride.

I had them fitted & balanced this afternoon; I'll report back as & when I get a chance to properly evaluate the pros & cons!
C6Dave   
Tue Mar 04 2014, 08:17am

Member No: #1
e3steve wrote ...