Login   
C6owners :: Forums :: C6 Support :: Super Sticky

Coolant level sensor retrofit solved.

Home   Forum Rules    Forum Help  Conversion Tools
   
Please Register to enjoy additional Member Benefits
Top Thanked Forum Posts: Today | Week | Month | Year | All time | Most Thanks Given: To member | By user
Author Post
cruiserphil   
Fri Nov 01 2019, 02:21pm

Joined: Jan 24 2010
Member No: #38
Location: Celbridge
Hello Tjensen,

No, the option to change is not in the BSI menu.

Best regards,

Phil C.
1 User said Thank You to cruiserphil for this Post :
 Tjensen (01 November 2019)
David Hallworth   
Fri Nov 01 2019, 02:37pm

Joined: Apr 16 2010
Member No: #90
Location: Glasgow
It's not available on the 3.0 HDi unfortunately. They removed the option to enable it in the ECU software.

The only thing I figured you could do on the 3.0 was to wire it into the water in diesel sensor. The issue is that because the coolant is water the light might be on all the time. If you could use another interface to flip the signal you could do it that way.

David.
2 User said Thank You to David Hallworth for this Post :
 Tjensen (01 November 2019) , cruiserphil (04 November 2019)
Citrofix   
Mon Nov 04 2019, 07:16am
Joined: May 23 2014
Member No: #1722
Location: Krokstadelva
321dave wrote ...

rwb wrote ...

I've just heard that there was a recall on 407s to remove the level sensor from the coolant tank because water was creeping up the wiring and into the ECU!


I also heard that.

Yes, this was also the case on old C5 2,0 diesels, so the sensor was swapped out With a plug. When I mounted the Level sensor on my C6, I isolated the copper core of the wires With glue where the wires are crimped to the contact pins, this eliminates coolant entering the ECU in case the coolant will creep up inside the sensor and into the 3-way Connector.

A better solution I think rather than removing the sensor. I had good use of the warning "coolant Level too low" lately, after a long drive to Stavanger South-west in Norway.

Next morning when I turned the key, I got the warning and popped up the bonnet to see that a plastic seam on top of the radiator was leaking, also one of the tiny plastic tubes going back to the expansion tank was bad, the one from the round little plastic "ball" front right.

Loosened the expansion tank cap some turns, so there would be no pressure in the system, bought 3 litres of coolant and drove home, no problem, no Message, no coolant loss.
2 User said Thank You to Citrofix for this Post :
 cruiserphil (04 November 2019) , 321dave (04 November 2019)
mtee   
Mon Nov 04 2019, 03:53pm
Joined: Oct 29 2014
Member No: #1924
Location: Kuopio
If the 3.0 HDi ECU does not support the low coolant warning, how about a standalone low coolant alarm? Should just find a subtle, not too prominent location for the alarm LED somewhere in the dashboard.
- Click Here -
David Hallworth   
Tue Nov 05 2019, 09:03pm

Joined: Apr 16 2010
Member No: #90
Location: Glasgow
I'd rather do it via the water in the diesel alarm that's built into the car and try and flip the signal. I hate bolting aftermarket things not a car personally.

David.
pauldubber   
Fri Apr 10 2020, 11:08am
Joined: May 10 2017
Member No: #3136
Location: Leiden
I have a early petrol c6 with cables already present for the cooling sensor. After installing the sensor and activating through the lexia, i get no warnings. Anyone with an idea?
1 User said Thank You to pauldubber for this Post :
 cruiserphil (14 April 2020)
cruiserphil   
Tue Apr 14 2020, 10:12am

Joined: Jan 24 2010
Member No: #38
Location: Celbridge
Hello Pauldubber,

When you say no warnings, how are you testing it?

Best regards,

Phil C.
pauldubber   
Thu Apr 23 2020, 11:09am
Joined: May 10 2017
Member No: #3136
Location: Leiden
I am testing by pulling out the sensor.
keithc   
Thu Apr 23 2020, 02:03pm
Joined: Apr 03 2016
Member No: #2584
Location: Kildare
I'm getting stuff ready to do a few jobs on my C6. One of them is the coolant level sensor. At the moment I have a sensor got but of the two sites Vaho links in his "how to" partacus.de no longer exists and the other (teile-profis.de) only has the plug. It's not recognising the part no's 6541E7/6541Z2/654Z1 for the pins/harness clips. Any Citroen garage Ive tried here in Ireland is closed for business for now.

Has anyone any other links where I could get the pins and plug (6541F3) together?
eke   
Fri Apr 24 2020, 11:23am
Joined: Sep 16 2011
Member No: #624
Location: Oulu
Is this what you are looking for ? - Click Here -

Also 6541E7/6541Z2/6541Z1 are available
2 User said Thank You to eke for this Post :
 keithc (24 April 2020) , cruiserphil (27 April 2020)
keithc   
Fri Apr 24 2020, 01:09pm
Joined: Apr 03 2016
Member No: #2584
Location: Kildare
Thanks a million for that! Have them ordered there now
Go to page   <<       

Jump:     Back to top

User Colour Key:
Head Administrator, Administrator, C6 owner, Technical Expert, C6 Premier Discount Club