Login   
C6owners :: Forums :: C6 Support :: The Garage

Digital display failure

Home   Forum Rules    Forum Help  Conversion Tools
   
Please Register to enjoy additional Member Benefits
Top Thanked Forum Posts: Today | Week | Month | Year | All time | Most Thanks Given: To member | By user
Author Post
robingc33   
Mon Jun 13 2016, 08:23pm
Joined: Aug 25 2015
Member No: #2303
Location: NW Essex
The C6 latest mileage (which is also stored in the BSI), is viewable within the "Vehicle Info" header paragraph of a Diagbox global test report - with or without the display fitted.
I know this cause my display has been missing/under repair for several months
Robin
1 User said Thank You to robingc33 for this Post :
 321dave (13 June 2016)
FreakyFrenchFan   
Tue Jun 14 2016, 01:27pm
Joined: Feb 08 2015
Member No: #2057
Location: Bicester
Well my unit is on its way to Autotronics. They offer a two year guarantee on the work they do. Here's hoping they can fix it! The total cost including return postage is £219. The unit is very easy to remove.
1 User said Thank You to FreakyFrenchFan for this Post :
 321dave (14 June 2016)
FreakyFrenchFan   
Fri Jun 17 2016, 08:21am
Joined: Feb 08 2015
Member No: #2057
Location: Bicester
Well that was short and painless. Just been informed by Autotronics that my instrument cluster has been repaired and is on it's way back to me. They have said that a "chip set" has been replaced consisting of four chips and a "soak test" done.Fortunately there was no damage to the PCB which made the repair easier. All I need to do now is refit it and cross my fingers.
3 User said Thank You to FreakyFrenchFan for this Post :
 321dave (17 June 2016) , cruiserphil (18 June 2016) , e3steve (22 June 2016)
FreakyFrenchFan   
Mon Jun 20 2016, 09:25am
Joined: Feb 08 2015
Member No: #2057
Location: Bicester
The unit arrived this morning and was refitted in just 5 minutes and hey presto!...it works again!! Exemplary service from Autotronics. Very quick, very helpful and in my opinion £219 well spent. Their work is also guaranteed for 2 years.

Now to a slight problem. When the unit was removed it resulted in two warnings coming up. One was the engine management light showing with the "Depollution system fault" warning message. The other was an "Airbag system fault". As mentioned elsewhere in this thread the appearance of these warnings seem to be a common occurrence when the unit is removed. Since refit the airbag warning has cleared but the Depollution warning hasnt despite numerous restarts. So.....

FAO Steve Welsh. IF/WHEN YOU ATTEND THE NATIONAL RALLY AT ABBOTS RIPTON COULD YOU BRING YOUR LEXIA WITH YOU TO RESET THIS WARNING? Thanks in advance Steve.

PS- The Depollution fault could of course be a new genuine fault, it is a C6 after all !, but somehow I doubt it.

2 User said Thank You to FreakyFrenchFan for this Post :
 cruiserphil (20 June 2016) , CitroenMan (20 June 2016)
Cisco   
Mon Jun 20 2016, 11:53am
Joined: Sep 10 2013
Member No: #1429
Location: Glasgow
Freaky,

My warnings disappeared after two or three starts but it may be that a couple of good runs up to normal temp may be all that's needed to clear the dpf.

But as you say it's a C6

As a post script to this my revitalised dash is still working as intended and, as you can see, I'm not superstitious
321dave   
Mon Jun 20 2016, 12:59pm
Joined: Sep 09 2011
Member No: #614
Location: Dublin
Great news about the returned and repaired displays. Hope all will be well for you guys now.
And now we have a repair route to follow for future troubles!
FreakyFrenchFan   
Mon Jun 20 2016, 06:07pm
Joined: Feb 08 2015
Member No: #2057
Location: Bicester
More good news! The depollution warning that I mentioned above has now cleared. No need for the Lexia now Steve. So it's now normal service resumed for my wonderful C6.....until the next time it decides to test me. LOL!
1 User said Thank You to FreakyFrenchFan for this Post :
 cruiserphil (21 June 2016)
Trainman   
Wed Jun 22 2016, 04:42am

Joined: Apr 12 2010
Member No: #86
Location: Penwortham
FreakyFrenchFan wrote ...


FAO Steve Welsh. IF/WHEN YOU ATTEND THE NATIONAL RALLY AT ABBOTS RIPTON COULD YOU BRING YOUR LEXIA WITH YOU TO RESET THIS WARNING? Thanks in advance Steve.



No problem Simon, always have it with me at a rally
Trainman   
Wed Jun 22 2016, 04:53am

Joined: Apr 12 2010
Member No: #86
Location: Penwortham
Trainman wrote ...

FreakyFrenchFan wrote ...


FAO Steve Welsh. IF/WHEN YOU ATTEND THE NATIONAL RALLY AT ABBOTS RIPTON COULD YOU BRING YOUR LEXIA WITH YOU TO RESET THIS WARNING? Thanks in advance Steve.



No problem Simon, always have it with me at a rally


FreakyFrenchFan wrote ...

More good news! The depollution warning that I mentioned above has now cleared. No need for the Lexia now Steve. So it's now normal service resumed for my wonderful C6.....until the next time it decides to test me. LOL!


I'll bring it anyway, I know what you're like.........
FreakyFrenchFan   
Wed Jun 22 2016, 05:41am
Joined: Feb 08 2015
Member No: #2057
Location: Bicester
Do you Steve? What's that then? LOL!
Valleybuoy   
Tue Jun 28 2016, 07:38am
Joined: Oct 24 2012
Member No: #1069
Location: England
I had the same failure - and the unit was sent away for review (I believe to Autotronics) who said beyond repair.

In the end - I got a new unit ordered in from France..and fitted by PTS Autos in Wokingham. It comes with a guarantee... and the mileage all showed up correct. Wasn't cheap though. Highly frustrating... as it doesn't improve car performance and really is just a failure of quality. Interesting to see the various posts on this site... looks like it's coming to us all... Boo Citroen. They should be part-funding.
Trainman   
Tue Jun 28 2016, 09:15am

Joined: Apr 12 2010
Member No: #86
Location: Penwortham
FreakyFrenchFan wrote ...

Do you Steve? What's that then? LOL!


If I answered that, I'd have to ban myself
Junksleeper   
Fri Jan 06 2017, 01:38pm
Joined: Feb 28 2014
Member No: #1605
Location: Staffordshire
Just had instrument cluster repaired at Autotronics in Leicester and really cannot praise the service I received highly enough. Mine was completely dead after a few months of it working intermittently. Called them and they said " bring it in and we should be able to repair it whilst you wait". I was sceptical after two attempts by other cowboys who'd bigged up their companies on the internet. But they did exactly that. I arrived today at 10.00 am and it was handed back to me repaired with a two year warranty at precisely 11.15 am. It cost £204 , worth every penny. Very happy to recommend them. They do a postal service for those not local.
2 User said Thank You to Junksleeper for this Post :
 Hattershaun (06 January 2017) , Norman (07 January 2017)
Norman   
Sat Jan 07 2017, 08:56am
Joined: Feb 06 2011
Member No: #364
Location: Huddersfield
I Had mine Repaired by Autotronics whilst i waited same price Excellent Service Five Star***** i have a thread somewhere.
1 User said Thank You to Norman for this Post :
 Junksleeper (08 January 2017)
Junksleeper   
Sat Jan 07 2017, 02:09pm
Joined: Feb 28 2014
Member No: #1605
Location: Staffordshire
Norman, I did recall it was you who'd recommended them, many thanks for posting it. As usual this site and its members come up trumps yet again. Was digging around my invoices and found the one from Cluster repairs UK who returned mine unrepaired with the attached memo "Unit has suffered a prolonged heavy voltage surges resulting in the complete failure of main processor being damaged and main software being corrupted, this type of fault cannot be repaired" ( their poor grammar, not mine) what a load of baloney! Charged me 30 quid to lie to me, plus 30 quid postage. Thank goodness for outfits like Autotronics, thanks again.
Mike
1 User said Thank You to Junksleeper for this Post :
 Norman (08 January 2017)
Go to page   <<        >>   

Jump:     Back to top

User Colour Key:
Head Administrator, Administrator, C6 owner, Technical Expert, C6 Premier Discount Club