2.7 Alternator Replacement - Some thoughts having done it

Home   Forum Rules    Forum Help  Conversion Tools

Please Register to enjoy additional Member Benefits
Author Post
mixolydian   
Mon Jul 29 2019, 03:24pm
Member No: #3382
Folks,

I'm not a professional mechanic and this isn't a full write-up so please treat accordingly, but I recently changed the alternator on my 2.7HDi C6 and wanted to share a few thoughts for anyone contemplating the same job.

This stemmed from receiving the “Battery Charge Faulty” message on the central display, following which I confirmed it was the alternator by testing the battery output. I was actually about 2 1/4 hours from home when this happened and whilst I have breakdown cover, I only ever consider this a last resort. The reason I mention this is that the C6 actually got me home - doubly impressive considering I had to use the lights for the last hour or so of the journey. Clearly, I was lucky and the alternator was not totally stuffed; but given the car’s relative electrical complexity, I’m still impressed.

Initially I simply tested this using a multimeter and with the system under load, following which I ran a Lexia diagnostic. I also changed the battery, but that’s another story… Prior to this I had the tell-tale ‘canary’ sound at tick over, which can be indicative of a failing / failed alternator clutch. In my case the bearing was in relatively poor shape when I got it out - it was very noisy, even when just turning it on the bench.