Login   
C6owners :: Forums :: C6 Support :: The Garage

Nearly bought a C6 this morning... but I didn't

Home   Forum Rules    Forum Help  Conversion Tools

Please Register to enjoy additional Member Benefits
Top Thanked Forum Posts: Today | Week | Month | Year | All time | Most Thanks Given: To member | By user
Author Post
Gigagator   
Sat Jan 19 2019, 04:40pm
Member No: #3803
Hi all,

Newbie here with a short story and a question at the end.

I like cars that are a bit off-the-cuff and unusual to see on the road. I started off in Alfas and currently drive a Rover 75 (possibly youngest 75 driver at 26?)
I've long admired the C6 and browse listings now and then but never thought it a reality until I spotted a high mileage 2.7 in Coventry on ebay listed for £2499.

So this morning I was showered, dressed and ready to make the journey from Cardiff to Coventry to take a look but decided it was too much of a risk - there MUST be something wrong with it at that price.

If anybody is curious, the listing is here

The listing looks good, lots of main dealer service history, cambelt done, condition looks nice. Seller describes the mechanical aspects as being excellent, so why shouldn't I go for it?

I was wondering if anybody on these fine forums had been to view it and seen anything glaringly obvious wrong with it? It appears it's been for sale since late December.

My 75 has been good to me and, counter to popular belief, absolutely rock solid and never let me down. Plus it's relatively cheap to run and easy to work on.
verycleverman   
Sat Jan 19 2019, 11:40pm
Member No: #65
It has one good thing going for it - the VED is only £315 a year instead of £540.
Dan595   
Sun Jan 20 2019, 10:14am
Member No: #299
Not been to see it. MoT history looks okay. The tax level is a significant bonus, as verycleverman notes.