Login   
C6owners :: Forums :: C6 Support :: The Garage

Compass

Home   Forum Rules    Forum Help  Conversion Tools
   
Please Register to enjoy additional Member Benefits
Top Thanked Forum Posts: Today | Week | Month | Year | All time | Most Thanks Given: To member | By user
Author Post
Davet49   
Wed Jan 02 2019, 04:58pm
Joined: Oct 14 2018
Member No: #3695
Location: Winchester
This is more a sat nav question, but I am not allowed to add new topics on that thread for some reason.
I use the sat nav in 'vehicle direction' mode, but miss the compass that I had on my Audi. Is there any way I can get a compass displayed on the sat nav screen?
cruiserphil   
Wed Jan 02 2019, 05:03pm

Joined: Jan 24 2010
Member No: #38
Location: Celbridge
Hello Davet49,

I'm aware of the compass display on the RT5 if you're car is fitted with that?

Best regards,

Phil C.
Davet49   
Wed Jan 02 2019, 05:43pm
Joined: Oct 14 2018
Member No: #3695
Location: Winchester
Thanks Phil, but mine is an RT4. Perhaps they added the compass as additional function for the RT5.
verycleverman   
Thu Jan 03 2019, 12:21am
Joined: Mar 08 2010
Member No: #65
Location: Northumberland
Davet49 wrote ...

Thanks Phil, but mine is an RT4. Perhaps they added the compass as additional function for the RT5.

Actually, no. The compass was a feature of the RT3 and early firmware versions of the RT4. 14 months ago, I bought a 2007 C5 Facelift with RT4 and the compass was present. The firmware was version 6.xx. When I updated to 8.31 the compass disappeared. It struck me as odd as I thought that the RT4 had 7.xx. It's possible that Mirascripts may have the ability to reactivate it, possibly one of the functions marked 'not known'.
2 User said Thank You to verycleverman for this Post :
 Davet49 (03 January 2019) , 321dave (03 January 2019)
Norman   
Sat Jan 05 2019, 03:16pm
Joined: Feb 06 2011
Member No: #364
Location: Huddersfield
I updated mine 8.1 some time ago and I'm sure the compass was still there I will have a look as soon as I am mobil at the moment I'm stuck in bed with a back problem.
Davet49   
Sat Jan 05 2019, 04:27pm
Joined: Oct 14 2018
Member No: #3695
Location: Winchester
I've updated mine to 8.31 and can't see a compass anywhere or any means of dkispalying one. It's a real nuisance!
Ciaran2   
Sat Jan 05 2019, 05:37pm
Joined: Dec 30 2018
Member No: #3789
Location: .
Strange, seen a few RT4 systems with it enabled, such as this one in a C4:



Not sure of software version though.


CitroenMan   
Sat Jan 05 2019, 10:38pm
Joined: Mar 13 2014
Member No: #1622
Location: Surrey
Hello,
Mine is RT4, updated in 2010 - the compass is NOT present when a destination is being followed on the Sat Nav, but if the map is shown, WITHOUT a destination being present, by using (WAS I think) the Audio button (!), - the one near the Nav and Climate buttons, the compass was then shown! - I

Regards,
Davet49   
Sun Jan 06 2019, 05:55pm
Joined: Oct 14 2018
Member No: #3695
Location: Winchester
Ciaran, do you know how to navigate to that page on the RT4?
Swalleau   
Tue Jan 08 2019, 02:29pm
Joined: Apr 09 2017
Member No: #3097
Location: Bournemouth
Hi Dave,

The compass is still present in 8.31. if you do not have the SATNAV running a route it will appear if you go to the Climate screen (as selected via the buttons on the left side of the head unit).

With SATNAV running the left hand part of the display will show direction information in Climate, Audio and Trip.

I think the layouts are not configurable...... if I have a mo later I'll check that as I am in the C6 today.

Hope that helps?

Iain
2 User said Thank You to Swalleau for this Post :
 Norman (09 January 2019) , Davet49 (09 January 2019)
Norman   
Wed Jan 09 2019, 12:44am
Joined: Feb 06 2011
Member No: #364
Location: Huddersfield
Just been out and checked the only place the compass showed was when the climate button was pushed and it appeared in the left hand segment
2 User said Thank You to Norman for this Post :
 cruiserphil (09 January 2019) , Davet49 (09 January 2019)
Davet49   
Wed Jan 09 2019, 03:48pm
Joined: Oct 14 2018
Member No: #3695
Location: Winchester
Thanks Iain - you are right. It does seem an odd place to find it and also it would be much better if it was overlaid (albeit smaller) on the map. But, that's how it is.
 

Jump:     Back to top

User Colour Key:
Head Administrator, Administrator, C6 owner, Technical Expert, C6 Premier Discount Club