Hello from the Netherlands

Home   Forum Rules    Forum Help  Conversion Tools

Please Register to enjoy additional Member Benefits
Author Post
Goofblikscha   
Mon Sep 25 2017, 10:08pm
Member No: #3279
Hi all,
My name is Lars Wullink, I'm 29 years old and I'm a marine engineer living in the northern part of the Netherlands. I've had quite some Citroëns, ranging from the 2cv to the XM, but never a C6. I have always wanted a C6, from the first time I saw one driving down the road. (early 2006, on the periferique in Paris while I was driving my leaky old BX)

Having sold my previous hobby (Landrover Series III) left me with an empty spot on the driveway and some funds to - finally - look for a C6! Last week I have driven all around the Netherlands to look at a few examples and decided to buy a Rouge Profond 2.7HDIF from 2006. It was in need of some small repairs (Coolant leak, faulty aircon, non working satnav and small engine servie) which the dealership is fixing right now, the delivery is set on Wednesday 13.00h. I can't wait!

I have been looking around the forum for the last few day's and I've already learned a lot. In the Netherlands there is not much info to be found on the C6....

C6Dave   
Tue Sep 26 2017, 08:42am

Member No: #1
Looks very nice with a few of the common issues which are easily fixable. Make sure that the thermostat housing (engine water outlet tank / HUIS MOT WATERU / Citroen part 1336-Y3) has been replaced as that is made of thermoplastic and the commonest part to fail on the coolant system and if it does go can prove to be catastrophic for the engine.

Website
Goofblikscha   
Tue Sep 26 2017, 01:26pm
The thermostat housing failed on the test drive so that is exactly what they are changing! The other important coolant pipe has already been changed last year, together with the timing belt and water pump.