Login   
C6owners :: Forums :: C6 Support :: Ice / USB Box / Telephone problems

parking camera

Home   Forum Rules    Forum Help  Conversion Tools
   
Please Register to enjoy additional Member Benefits
Top Thanked Forum Posts: Today | Week | Month | Year | All time | Most Thanks Given: To member | By user
Author Post
allingkalling   
Sun Jan 19 2014, 09:00am
Joined: Apr 13 2013
Member No: #1261
Location: Kiruna
Anybody tried to mount a rear parking camera on c6 ? Is it possible to use the video input and video display fairly easy? One problem at least is to get it to function automatic when the reverse is engaged. Easier to hookup trailer or caravan . But is it possible at all.
m3mpower   
Wed Jan 22 2014, 09:46pm
Joined: Oct 12 2011
Member No: #662
Location: Alicante
allingkalling wrote ...

Anybody tried to mount a rear parking camera on c6 ? Is it possible to use the video input and video display fairly easy? One problem at least is to get it to function automatic when the reverse is engaged. Easier to hookup trailer or caravan . But is it possible at all.


Hi
Yes it's possible, it has been done, and works great, only problem is that it is expensive
Website
1 User said Thank You to m3mpower for this Post :
 allingkalling (26 Jan : 09:09)
smihaialex   
Thu Jan 23 2014, 09:53am
Joined: Sep 18 2012
Member No: #1031
Location: Bucharest
Well, where there's a will, there's a way...

Hey @m3mpower, can a script be loaded onto the main unit in order to enable video mode when reverse is engaged? How expensive is it and what would one need? Coz' that would be the main challenge, in order to make it work automatically, right? Everything else is pretty straight forward, right?

But, even if that's not possible, the system could still work and you could engage it manually whenever you needed it The good thing is that the main display remembers the last menu you accessed, so, activating video would only be two pushes on the main joystick away...

Cheerios,
Sam

Cheerios,
Sam
Dave-Retired   
Thu Jan 23 2014, 10:53am

Joined: Oct 01 2009
Member No: #1
Location: Northumberland
Sam you can use MiraScripts to disable the speed setting on the screen input so if you plug it into the video inputs................
Website
magicands   
Thu Jan 23 2014, 11:44am
Joined: Sep 13 2012
Member No: #1021
Location: Coventry, Warwickshire
Can't really see the point when you have 4 rear sensors fitted, unless they have failed?
Good luck though
Website
m3mpower   
Thu Jan 23 2014, 11:12pm
Joined: Oct 12 2011
Member No: #662
Location: Alicante
smihaialex wrote ...

Well, where there's a will, there's a way...

Hey @m3mpower, can a script be loaded onto the main unit in order to enable video mode when reverse is engaged? How expensive is it and what would one need? Coz' that would be the main challenge, in order to make it work automatically, right? Everything else is pretty straight forward, right?

But, even if that's not possible, the system could still work and you could engage it manually whenever you needed it The good thing is that the main display remembers the last menu you accessed, so, activating video would only be two pushes on the main joystick away...

Cheerios,
Sam

Cheerios,
Sam


Hi
You will need the camera obviously, the interface, and some cables, wiring.
The camera activates automatically when you engage reverse, no need to activate it manually...
The interface only works with RT4/5, NG4 and RNEG.
If i remember correctly it costs over 300€ for the interface alone.

Website
1 User said Thank You to m3mpower for this Post :
 allingkalling (26 Jan : 09:09)
Stealth   
Fri Jan 24 2014, 05:32am
Joined: Aug 11 2012
Member No: #986
Location: Sydney
I'm with magicands...

I'd rather be looking in my rear vision mirror or over my shoulder when reversing, and allowing the audio to tell me how close I am to objects.
CeeKuus   
Sat Jan 25 2014, 05:40pm
Joined: May 16 2011
Member No: #476
Location: Lounais-Suomi
m3mpower wrote ...

Hi
You will need the camera obviously, the interface, and some cables, wiring.
The camera activates automatically when you engage reverse, no need to activate it manually...
The interface only works with RT4/5, NG4 and RNEG.
If i remember correctly it costs over 300€ for the interface alone.



Hello all,

You can install the reverse camera to C6 and have the automatic switching when engaging the reverse gear.

I have done this installation to my C6. Please see the video:



I have installed the Navlinkz VL2-NG4 interface unit.

Link to the German seller:

VL2-NG4

The interface is connected in the LVDS signal between the RT4 main unit and the display unit. Makes automatic switching to the reverse camera. The detection is through CAN-bus.

The price for the interface about a year ago was 329 euro.
5 User said Thank You to CeeKuus for this Post :
 Dave-Retired (25 Jan : 18:11) , allingkalling (26 Jan : 09:08) , m3mpower (26 Jan : 21:38) , Pappnase (05 Feb : 10:32) , xm man (02 Mar : 22:13)
ChrisHunter   
Sat Jan 25 2014, 11:49pm
Joined: Jul 20 2010
Member No: #188
Location: Lancashire
we spent more than that for repairs after we reversed into a BMW 5-Series about a year ago ...

very slow, and corner of rear bumper to corner of rear bumper ...

we were reversing out of the way of a van that was making so much noise (engine + warning beeper etc) that we didn't hear our own warnings, and the Sun was behind us ...

BMW repairs were about 4x those to the 'C6 ...
CeeKuus   
Sun Jan 26 2014, 07:25am
Joined: May 16 2011
Member No: #476
Location: Lounais-Suomi
Here below is a block diagram of the modules and connections needed.






5 User said Thank You to CeeKuus for this Post :
 Dave-Retired (26 Jan : 07:54) , allingkalling (26 Jan : 09:08) , m3mpower (26 Jan : 21:39) , Pappnase (05 Feb : 10:33) , Ghostrider (22 Sep : 11:47)
eke   
Mon Jan 27 2014, 10:24am
Joined: Sep 16 2011
Member No: #624
Location: Oulu
CeeKuus wrote ...

Hello all,

You can install the reverse camera to C6 and have the automatic switching when engaging the reverse gear.

I have done this installation to my C6. Please see the video:


Hello CeeKuus,

Seems like you have Finnish system language in your RT4. How is that possible ?

BR Eke
m3mpower   
Mon Jan 27 2014, 10:41am
Joined: Oct 12 2011
Member No: #662
Location: Alicante
CeeKuus wrote ...

m3mpower wrote ...

Hi
You will need the camera obviously, the interface, and some cables, wiring.
The camera activates automatically when you engage reverse, no need to activate it manually...
The interface only works with RT4/5, NG4 and RNEG.
If i remember correctly it costs over 300€ for the interface alone.



Hello all,

You can install the reverse camera to C6 and have the automatic switching when engaging the reverse gear.

I have done this installation to my C6. Please see the video:


I have installed the Navlinkz VL2-NG4 interface unit.

Link to the German seller:

VL2-NG4

The interface is connected in the LVDS signal between the RT4 main unit and the display unit. Makes automatic switching to the reverse camera. The detection is through CAN-bus.

The price for the interface about a year ago was 329 euro.


Hi Ceekus
Great work you've done there...
Are you Pasi from Finland by any chance?
Website
CeeKuus   
Tue Jan 28 2014, 07:41pm
Joined: May 16 2011
Member No: #476
Location: Lounais-Suomi
eke wrote ...


Hello CeeKuus,

Seems like you have Finnish system language in your RT4. How is that possible ?

BR Eke


Hello Eke,

The procedure to get the Finnish system language was:
- extracting the text files by using Mirascript,
- translating the text lines (more than three thousand rows of text)
- replacing the original text files in RT4 hard disk by using Mirascript
Now it is nice to use the system "localized".

BR,
CeeKuus
1 User said Thank You to CeeKuus for this Post :
 eke (30 Jan : 18:15)
CeeKuus   
Tue Jan 28 2014, 07:45pm
Joined: May 16 2011
Member No: #476
Location: Lounais-Suomi
m3mpower wrote ...


Hi Ceekus
Great work you've done there...
Are you Pasi from Finland by any chance?



Hi m3mpower,

Yes, same person.
..same Citroën enthusiast.

BR, CeeKuus
1 User said Thank You to CeeKuus for this Post :
 m3mpower (28 Jan : 20:03)
m3mpower   
Tue Jan 28 2014, 08:04pm
Joined: Oct 12 2011
Member No: #662
Location: Alicante
CeeKuus wrote ...

m3mpower wrote ...


Hi Ceekus
Great work you've done there...
Are you Pasi from Finland by any chance?



Hi m3mpower,

Yes, same person.
..same Citroën enthusiast.

BR, CeeKuus


I thought so...
Nice to have you around
Website
Go to page       >>   

Jump:     Back to top

User Colour Key:
Head Administrator, Administrator, C6 owner, Technical Expert, C6 Premier Discount Club