C6owners :: Forums :: C6 Support :: Ice / USB Box / Telephone problems

Forget Navdrive mapping do it by ipad

Home   Forum Rules    Forum Help  Conversion Tools

Please Register to enjoy additional Member Benefits
Author Post
akabigm   
Tue Jun 04 2013, 06:17pm
Member No: #1302
I am new to C6 but have owned XMs, BX, C3, C4 GP, and latterly I have not had built in sat nav. I found the C6 sat nav very old hat and such a small screen, so I went back to the solution I have used on last few cars ....... use an Ipad.

I use Navigon though there are other satnav apps, all considerably better and cheaper than Navtecq £199 for maps EU upgrade, ..........mine gets updates every quarter for £25 a year, also from Navtec, 10 inch retina display and can also load accurate and updated weekly speed cams app, play all my music etc etc.

All it required is a new bit for the Brodit Proclip system, this is quality kit, car attachment and device holder change each seperatly as required

So now got C6 specific mount, attaches to passger side centre air vents, slopes towads driver, solid as a rock, even better with C6 suspension.

audio cable from ipad to glove box, everything through car sysytem, power cable, check its 2.1 amp, to charge Ipad as we trot along, though ipad has 10 hours use on a charge sat nav does use power a bit faster, front cig lighter socket makes for short cable run.

ipad can rotate to portrait or landscape, much a preference but polarised sunglasses make portrait invisible, some buttons are a bit behind mount but still useable and looks quite smart

Appreciate not everyones cup of tea but worth a think.

Use a spare sim in rt4 and divert my other phone to car when on more than very short journey, so phone sorted and can retire Jawbone earpiece, best ever, but prefer not stuck in ear ! My C6 doesnt have Bluetooth unfortuately.

Loving C6 most comfortable car ever, big improvement on my C4 GP, really did not take to that.

nickyg   
Tue Jun 04 2013, 10:46pm